My Cinderella Story for March Madness

Standard

The idea and general design for this quilt came to me in a dream. Seriously. Fortunately, I remembered it when i woke up. For once.

And then Blaine helped me with the important details. Like what the brackets are all about, what seed plays what seed in the first round, etc. etc.

Basically, it tells the story of an entire March Madness tournament, from the first round to the championship game. And has fans in the bleachers and watching on tv.

It was really hard to get everything right. In fact, I’d have to say it was probably the most difficult quilt I’ve made to this point. I had to figure out the pattern and how to make it all fit, and of course rip out and resew it in quite a few places.

It’s called Cinderella Story because the lowest ranked team in the weakest bracket ends up taking it all. You can follow the story in the quilt pattern. It’a a really big quilt, so I couldn’t really figure out where to hang it to get the whole thing in one frame, but I did include it in the adventure Joyce and I undertook to depict my quilts in iconic Portland locations. Maybe there’s enough showing to give you the general idea.

Ric and Blaine are at the Rose Garden at this very moment watching the second round game of the 2012 NCAA tournament between Indiana and New Mexico!

Last week, it occurred to me that it would be cool to put the quilt on display for the tournament, I emailed the Rose Garden and someone there was kind enough to reply quickly, but had the disappointing news that there are so many NCAA rules about what can and can’t be displayed that they were having to remove lots of things. So I told her thanks and that I would just consider it the NCAA’s loss. :)

But I’d like to point out that in this year’s tourney, there were two near-Cinderella stories in the first round, with two #15 seeds knocking off #2 seeds.

So maybe there will be a Cinderella story for my quilt. Maybe, just maybe, despite the odds and NCAA rules, someday my Cinderella will be invited to the Big Dance.

3 responses

  1. Those two sports freaks in your house have totally corrupted you. You might now be beyond hope. On the flip side… I think it’s totally awesome!

  2. I love the fact that you followed the idea through to arrive at such a unique combo – quilting and sports. You are not only one smart cookie but a talented one at that.