a lot of catch uppin to do…

Standard

I really don’t like starting out the week with a huge inbox of unanswered email and stacks of other undone things awaiting me, but that’s exactly the fix I find myself in right now. The price I pay for being out of town at a conference for a week. More about that later…

First, a Blaine update… as I was getting ready to go to the airport to fly to San Francisco for the Web 2.0 conference, naturally Blaine’s health needed tending to… Lately, his always swollen left foot has become much more swollen. No matter what we do, no matter how much he wears his special sock, it it’s gotten worse. So the morning I was getting ready to leave for the airport, I contacted one of his doctors who said he should be seen right away because it could be deep vein thrombosis. Yikes!!

My dilemma: do I just cancel my trip and go into uber mom mode I’ve been in for the past 28 years? or do I hope for the best and trust others to get the care Blaine needs? Painful and hard decision. Ric, of course, immediately stepped up to the plate and dropped what he was doing and took Blaine to an appointment within a couple of hours. And Francesca, bless her sweet soul, decided to go with them… she even went in for the vascular ultrasound with him. So I went to the airport.

The long and the short of it is this: they found a pulse in his foot, and movement in the arteries (not what it should be, but movement!)… no real explanation for why it is more swollen, but the doctor says she is ordering physical therapy on it and gave a prescription for a pressure stocking.

But then Fran and I started thinking: this whole thing started RIGHT AFTER Blaine started wearing a pressure stocking… could it be that it is somehow blocking off the flow above his foot? Kind of an interesting coincidence!! So we decided to let him go without the stocking for a while to see what happens. And keep his foot as elevated as possible. And we’re still waiting for the PT to happen…

Blaine also experienced a kind of Tri-Met meltddown this week, but more on that later. Every story I tell turns out to take so long, I run out of time. So I concede there is a backlog and that I have a lot of catch uppin to do…

One response