The e-stable continues to grow

Standard

And I am even more embarrassed.  Our household now has a Wii.  Here’s how it happened:  Ric asked me what I wanted for my birthday.  (Uh, yeah, I’m in my last year of the 50s now!?)

So I’ve been trying to come up with a fitness plan for myself for some time now.  Without a lick of success.  Just can’t get started.  And of course every day of not starting is another day of falling further behind, which makes it even harder to start.  I feel like I need to land on an approach.  So far I’m still freefalling.  No landing strip in sight.

Maybe I’m going at this the wrong way.  I don’t want to pay a big gym membership.  Not really crazy about doing the gym thing anyway.  Guess I mostly want to exercise in private.  In the beginning at least.  I can’t hardly stand to watch my body move now, so don’t really want to subject anyone else to what I fear, to borrow a line from W.C. Fields, would scare horses and small children.

I tried the Curves thing, which is women only, and mostly women of a certain age and shape.  Didn’t work for me. First of all, the loud music made me want to go postal.  Exercise is painful enough when you are as out of shape as I am, so I don’t need the additional pain of earsplitting disco musak.  Or whatever it was they play.  Yuk.

Also, I just found the equipment so, oh, I don’t know, lame.  I mean, I couldn’t get my heart rate up high enough even when I worked it with all my might. I needed something more.  And I kept having this creepy feeling that I was part of some right wing nut case conspiracy.  Or something like that.  So I quit.  It took me so many months of having the fee automatically removed from my checking account before I remembered where the paperwork was so I could actually write the letter to resign.  They don’t make it easy.  I wonder why.

So basically, I don’t trust the membership places so much.  Just feels scammy.

When I started hearing about the Wii Fit, I thought that might be just the thing.  In the privacy of my own home.  Lots of people reported actually doing it and enjoying it.

Well, fuck me.  I overlooked the fact that to do Wii Fit, one must have a Wii.  (Somehow I got the idea it was self-contained or something.)  So guess what I got for my birthday?  A Wii.  And Ric had to really pull some magic to get his hands on one.

So far we haven’t managed to find a Wii fit anywhere.  We’re still working on it.  I’ll keep you posted.

And now I swear we will not be getting any more electronic devices.  Ever.  Well, except my laptop fan went out, and it’s more than 6 years old now and I guess it would cost too much to repair it so I’m thinking about going to the Macforce garage sale tomorrow morning to try to get a new used one.  But that doesn’t really count, does it?  It would be an even swap.

Ric still has in mind getting the new iPhone, and he’s pretty sure when I see his I’ll want one too. But that would come out even too.  I guess I can live with staying even.

Comments are closed.