WSBG reviews The Secret Scripture by Sebastian Barry

Standard

World’s Smallest Book Group thinks Sebastian Barry‘s writing is beautiful. We were all enraptured by the words and how they went together. We love it when that happens!41l299c-9hL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA240_SH20_OU01_

This is the story of a woman’s life told through the diaries of two people, one written by the woman herself as she reaches 100, having spent several decades in a mental institution.  Along the way, it reveals much about the story of Ireland and its civil war…especially the role of the very powerful and corrupt Catholic Church that seems to have a hand in everything. As we know, the church took very dim view of women.  Tragically, this woman paid a very high price for that.

It’s really a sort of mystery…a psychiatrist is trying to figure out what put Roseanne into the institution as he tries to figure out where she should go when it closes down. Near the end of the book, we were in for a bit of a shock.  Well, Joyce and I were. Reba and Darcy were savvy enough to figure out the surprise before it was revealed.  But I was gobsmacked! Wow!

Joyce and I dearly loved the book.  Reba and Darcy weren’t quite so taken with the story, but we all agreed about the beauty of the writing.

If you like reading about the long long reach of injustice, you will enjoy this book.  I think it’s critically important to read stories like this… because these things happened to women.  And still do.  May we never forget or look the other way. I very highly recommend it.

About mariadeathstar

This is where I express myself. The real me. Prolly not for the faint hearted. I'm also real on twitter: @mariadeathstar

Comments are closed.