The summer of spiders

Standard

Okay, we have to talk about the spiders. I have never seen more spiders, bigger spiders, earlier and more often than this summer in our back yard.

All summer long, during my mostly fruitless searches for red tomatoes and fresh eggs, I have been assaulted aggressively again and again by arachnid architecture.  Yes, I know spiders are our friends. But this has not been an easy summer for arachnophobes like me. I offer up the photo essay (all pics taken with my iPhone) below to show you what kind of summer it’s been in my back yard…

They wait for me where I get out of my car.

 

The driveway greeter

 

They lurk over the pond, snaring the bugs the koi miss.

 

Just beyond the reach of the fish

 

They stack up like planes waiting to land at ORD…

 

Not one, not two, but three webs in a row

 

To move through the yard, we have to look for tunnels between webs…

 

Proceed with caution!

 

And every evening, as dusk spreads, we know they lie in wait…

 

And she waits...

 

so we very gingerly open the back door on each new day…

Yes, still there...

I doubt I’ll mind that first hard frost.

Just sayin.

2 responses

  1. i sometimes feel guilt for tearing down their webs. taking a picture 1st to memorialize it would make me feel better.

    tanx!

  2. Pingback: Boring year is THE MOST EXCITING THING THAT’S EVER HAPPENED!!! Happy Holidays. | ran dum thots