Quiltlandia in Portlandia: Swaddle Me

Standard

I’m going to post photos of and a bit of narrative about all the quilts in my Quilt Show at Bed Mart in the Pearl for First Thursday in October 2011. Joyce and I scampered across the city taking photos of my quilts set in iconic Portland places. This is the statue of Vera Katz on the Eastbank Esplanade.

I named this one Swaddle Me, a hashtag that @BravoAndy uses to very humorous effect. I dunno, maybe you had to be there. 🙂

I had a lot of trouble getting into a rhythm making this quilt. For some reason, I didn’t grasp the fact that it mattered what order the little pieces are when attaching the strip blocks to the larger whole block. If you look closely, you’ll notice that the two strip blocks on each side of the larger blocks are the reverse of one another. Unfortunately, I didn’t notice that when I started and had sewn quite a few together before it dawned on me.

I didn’t buy any fabric for this project, using only what I had in my stash. Which wasn’t really a problem because I had collected a number of blue and purple and teal fabrics over time for a ridiculously complex idea I had that involved peacocks. Fortunately, I came to my senses before I embarked on that project, hence I have a plethora of blue/teal/purples tones. I’m not sure you can tell from this image, but some of the fabrics in this quilt are prints of peacock feathers.

This is not a hard quilt to make, especially if you are aware of what I overlooked. Cutting the small pieces is a little tedious, as is sewing them together, but it’s not difficult.

Quiltlandia in Portlandia: Swaddle Me

Comments are closed.