What the cookless kitchen looks like on June 4, 2012

Standard

Just so you know what we’re dealing with:

Kitchen before facing southwest

Kitchen before facing southwest

Kitchen facing west/northwest

Kitchen facing west/northwest

Kitchen facing southeast

Kitchen facing southeast

kitchen facing south

kitchen facing south, featuring greenhouse window

kitchen facing north

kitchen facing north

den facing west, will be part of new kitchen

den facing west, will be part of new kitchen

I don’t know if these photos make sense, if you can create a whole out of them, but basically the wall with the cactus mural will be gone so the room will be bigger, in order to accommodate more features at wheelchair level. Blaine, did I tell you we’re planning on you doing all the cooking from here on?

Appliances aren’t really changing position, except the dishwasher is moving next to the sink, so no plumbing changes.

We’re getting a new refrigerator and stove and new cupboards. And an island of sorts, which will be comprised mainly of a tabletop at regular table height so we have a ready-made dining area that can fit five people comfortably.

And we’ll have granite countertops for the first time ever in our lives. And I plan on having some really awesome and beautiful glass tiles for a backsplash (a rather limited area, thankfully, so it won’t be ridiculously expensive.)

We’ll also have built in bookshelves and a cozy will bench seat reading area. I gave up half of my books to make this work.

And the colors. Wait til you see the colors. That will be the best part.

It always is.

One response

  1. The very best of luck with the project. Just remember stone worktops can be unforgiving. I remember visiting a house and being given a delicate china cup (not my style but they are nice people so just took the cup of tea) and when finished with it I put the cup down on the counter. Not hard, barely felt a thing. The handle came off so softly in my hand I didn’t notice till my wife pointed out I was still holding it. On the other hand they are easy to maintain, long lasting, look well, hygenic and stand up to chopping. Nice, decent, honest pictures – thanks for the post.