Unveiling The One Block Wonder

Standard

Would you believe my one-block wonder quilt top is finished! Whew! Here’s what it looks like:

So I’m wondering if it’s bright enough?

Seriously, I’m thinking I need to show my work. I took a class at Cool Cottons, using the technique in the One Block Wonder book.

So you start by selecting a multicolored fabric with a 24 inch repeat in the pattern. Here’s my choice (yes, inspired by Toaster Moon decor!):

You use the special Kaleido-Ruler to cut triangles of a certain size out of fabric strips of a certain size.


You join 8 triangles into an octagon, like this:

Then you join smaller triangles to the octagons to form a square.

You can choose triangles that contrast with the nearby octagons, or triangles that blend with the adjacent octagons. I chose ones that blend, which gives a different effect than when you choose contrasting fabric. That’s why my quilt looks somewhat different than many one block wonder quilts, I think.

Then you join the squares so they look like what you see when you look through a kaleidoscope.

Then you choose fabrics for the borders. As usual, I went for eye-catching fabric in bright colors. When I got the outer border on, I decided it needed some embellishment, so I added curvy strips of the inner border, and random triangle shapes of the main fabric. The result:

Now I need to quilt it and and binding around the outer edge to finish it off. Then it will join its fabric kinfolk in Toaster Moon.

13 responses

  1. Thank you everybody!! Beth, when I finished (I thought) the top, I realized the outer border was just too blah (even though it was a bright color). So I just cut some random curly lengths from the inner border fabric, and some random geometic shapes from the fabric the one block wonder squares were made from. Then I just laid out randomly. No real plan, just an instinct kind of thing. I thought it was much more balanced when I finished!

  2. I really like the border. Another nice touch is the one large square that you put in the pattern.

  3. Thank you so much! Yes, doing a large block was the teacher’s suggestion. Since my quilt is small, I only put one. In larger quilts she suggests three. Should always be an odd number.

  4. There is something soothing with symmetry, but I am still drawn to asymmetrical (odd numbered) patterns.

  5. Beautiful quilt! I work for C&T, the publisher of the book “One-Block Wonders” – I’m so glad you enjoyed the process! I just joined Crafty Nation and saw you there.

  6. Pingback: The return of the holiday letter: 2008 edition « ran dum thots

  7. I’ve been trying to figure out how to cut the triangles for the one block wonder, and I have that triangle ruler you showed in the first photo, but it doesn’t match the triangles in the next photos. Am I missing something?